All About Big Fudge

Marshall-33-marshall-eriksen-29585736-500-281

Your lips are trembling but you can’t speak

You’re trying, oh you’re trying not to cry.

Ya just got slapped

Across the face my friend.

Ya just got slapped

Yes that really just happened

Sound familiar?  If you’re a How I Met Your Mother fan it should!  These are some of the lyrics to the song “You Just Got Slapped.”  Performed in the first of many Slapsgiving episodes, Jason Segel shows off some of his many talents as a lyricist and piano player.  Jason Segel’s portrayal of Marshall Erikson is undeniably awesome.  I first started watching How I Met Your Mother around the same time that Forgetting Sarah Marshall came out, so I was already slightly obsessed with Jason Segel.  Since then, my love for him has only grown watching him play Marshall Erikson on How I Met Your Mother over the years.

Marshall Eriksen’s character has certainly grown over the years.  In season one, he was a Columbia law student working towards becoming an environmental lawyer.  His career has gone through many different stages throughout the seasons from the corporate life to a few months of unemployment.  In season seven, Marshall is finally doing what he set out to do as a lawyer working at the environmental law firm, Honeywell & Cootes.  At the end of the eighth episode of the current season, Twelve Horny Women, we learn that Marshall is applying to be a judge because he wants to make a bigger difference in the world.

Many people describe Marshall’s character as a giant, loveable teddy bear, and I would have to concur with this assessment.  From his love of board games (originally created and otherwise), his unyielding belief that the loch ness monster could totally be real, his not so secret love for fruity and tropical alcoholic beverages, his infamous catchphrases like “lawyered,” and many other terrific quirks and trademarks Marshall Eriksen definitely fits this description.  He’s a great friend, new dad, and best of all he’s the second half of one of television’s most awesome and favorite couples.  Although I love Jason Segel in his hilarious comedy films like Forgetting Sarah Marshall and I Love You Man, and of course as Nick Andopolis in his first big role as Nick Andopolis in Freaks and Geeks, Marshall Eriksen is my favorite.  The show would not be the same without him, and for that I will leave you with my closing statement: Marshall rocks, Lawyered.

~ by jnbiro on April 7, 2013.

One Response to “All About Big Fudge”

  1. I love Marshall’s character. He is a real family man and his relationship with Lily is so adorable. His character reminds me of a polite little kid, and I would agree that he is just a big teddy bear. The episode that picture is from is hilarious. He is staring at Robin’s boyfriend (Enrique Iglesias) singing and plying guitar.

Leave a comment